Clear all

I worked at a Political Campaign Firm, Here's What I Saw

29 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@sculptsesh)
Topic starter

Hi everyone,

After this election, I thought it might be fun to talk about my time in politics. I used to work for a political campaign firm, about 8-9 years ago. My boss was a consultant for the Republican party, but I later found out that he also used to be a lobbyist and ran a separate business where he taught political hopefuls how to win elections (with a focus on winning a Republican position in a traditionally blue state).

I worked as a designer there on 16 different campaigns (14 candidates and 2 measures), and part of my job was taking an InDesign file that got deleted and recreating it from scratch from a hard copy of a book my boss wrote called "How to Win Elections."

It was about 300 pages long and this was long before I woke up, but having to read and hand-type this entire book was a big part of my process of waking up.

I wish I still had the book laying around, but I'll talk about some of the biggest eye openers to me at the time:

• The book contained a "Mad Libs" section of press releases for every possible thing your candidate might do or say wrong. So, if your candidate was caught cheating on his wife, the Mad Lib had blank spots for his name _______ and then the alleged woman he was cheating with _______.

The press release went something along the lines of:

"There has been an allegation against [candidate]. When we talked to [candidate], he was completely shocked and denies any claims that he ever had an affair with [woman] and says it's completely false. Reporters talked to [candidate]'s campaign manager and he said, "Look, I've known [candidate] for years. He's a good guy, he would never do something like this. I know him and his wife, they are close, and she's standing by him during the election."