4 Posts
1 Users
2 Likes
enjoypolo
(@enjoypolo)
Member Moderator
Topic starter

Leonardo Da Vinci, self-portrait, date unknown

Leonardo Da Vinci (1452-1519) is probably the epitome of self-taught (autodidact), polymath genius, and esoteric wizard, a man who was well-ahead of his time. Although we've all heard of him at some point, his life and work is still elusive to me.

All I know, is that in my awakening journey, I keep realizing how much this guy was an off-the-charts genius, not to mention an incredible artist, and inventor, and probably more things than I know of.
His disciple Giordano Bruno is also a name that always gets my attention, although I've never yet read his books (he was burned at the stake, for, amongst other things, his theories of a Unified Cosmogony)
The Vitruvian man (with all its holo-fractal sacred ratios) used to hang on the walls of our old place, alas I left it there. Now though, I noticed even some Italian euro coins feature it on the back of it!
Talk about cultural heritage.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPdnpBSLoJw
Vitruvian Man by Alan Green (Barcode)

This year supposedly marks the 500-year anniversary since his passing away, and in fact, The Louvres museum in Paris will hold a historical exhibition featuring the biggest collection of his work to the public from October 19-February 2020. They're flying in his works from all-around the world, so safe to say, this is one for the books.
I also know Robert Grant posted some pictures of the collection featured at a museum in California (Ronald Reagan Museum), so maybe that's something closer to home for some. (Sadly, the last day of this exhibit is Sept 8, as I write this..)

Feel free to share any anecdotes or interesting facts about the man, I'm all ears.