Notifications
Clear all

Code Backed Venture Capital

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@ventureboy)
Topic starter

In high school, I was already out of place because I questioned processes too much and was "rebellious" in my thinking, according to my religious family. I have always tried to look at the bigger picture and improve myself and my beliefs based in truth but this brings consequences in the real world. So I started looking at how to make money in a capitalistic system I don't believe in so I could live the way I wanted to. In 2012, as a self taught jack-of-all-trades engineer, I started a company with the intent to help others by funding them with code, strategy, and ethical branding and marketing.

Previously my first business, which I wasn't passionate about, was poorly run by myself. I learned many painful yet fruitful lessons in following truth and dying to my oversized ego. I focused on helping folks where the leadership was full of people I felt were honest and truthful in their approach to life and business. Not all turned out to be but a large majority were. People told me I was crazy to make convertible notes/investments in entrepreneurs instead of taking their money. However, I made bi-laws that said the company would only take a maximum of a 20% stake in any organization I invested my time into. This allowed me to be paid enough money to live on while trusting and believing for a payout on the other end. It also created sustainability, avoiding the entrepreneurs that wanted to give a majority stake for an idea where I couldn't financially survive.