Brownsmithing (Blac...

Notifications
Clear all

Brownsmithing (Blacksmithing with Brown's Gas) (Updated)

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Neuron Crux
(@neuron-crux)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Greetings Fam,

I just sent an email to George Wiseman expressing my curiosity about cutting, welding and forging metal using Brown's Gas.
I have been blacksmithing on and off for about 20 years, and recently made the transition from coal to propane forging.
Depending on the response from George, I may be considering switching fuel sources once again.

I have experimented with forging everything from jewelry to throwing stars and other shuriken, to daggers, knives and short swords.
Eventually I would like to expand into armor and more valuable metals like gold and silver.

The idea that I would like to propose here is an experimental crowd-funding campaign.
I don't exactly have the spare money laying around to purchase the machine and the torch accessories outright at the moment.
I could probably afford about 1/4 - 1/3 of the costs to get started.
What I am wondering is; would anyone be interested in donating to the start-up costs should I decide to move forward with the idea?

I was thinking that if I am able to get some financial help to purchase the equipment, then I would record my experiments and progress and make a video series out of it to share with the community here, and also make and send out custom creations to my donors. It would be a multi-tier donation system, where I could offer, say, a pendant or bottle opener to low level donors, a letter opener or throwing star to middle-range donors, and a larger dagger or something more elaborate for large donors.

Again, this is all up in the air for now, as I am waiting on more info from George Wiseman, but I thought I would get the idea ball rolling and await feedback before making any big decisions.

I will be very interested to hear what y'all think.

Thanks,
Neuron Crux

Posted : May 30, 2021 1:15 PM
Neuron Crux